Chris Read Discography

Chris Read Discography

Available Now iTunes Spotify

Chris Read & Pugs Atomz – ‘Colo(u)rs of the World’

  • Release date: 2017-03-17
  • Label: BBE

Blurb from BBE:

“Respected producer, renowned digger, and prolific DJ, Chris Read has been releasing and compiling music on BBE for many years now, both as a solo artist and as producer of electronic soul outfit Maylight. Created in collaboration with Chicago rapper and vocalist Pugs Atomz, ‘Colours Of The World’, started life when the latter was in London recording and touring with BBE label-mate and mutual friend DJ Vadim’s group The Electric. Having recorded a small collection of tracks during Pugs’ time in London town, two of which appeared  Chris Read’s 2015 producer collection ‘All Night’, the duo continued to exchange ideas and recordings across the pond after Pugs’ return to his native Chicago, completing the album with the addition of several guest vocalists and musicians from both Chicago and London.

A true hip hop renaissance man, Pugs Atomz has travelled the world several times over, always making a lasting impression thanks to his energetic stage performances, forward-thinking attitude and highly relatable lyrics. Mix-tape maestro and sample head, Chris Read’s beat-making credentials simply cannot be overstated. ‘Colours Of The World’ bridges the gap between traditional boom-bap sonics and future soul, utilizing obscure jazz fragments to create dazzling sonic mosaics; smooth, sumptuous and soulful throughout. Pugs’ dextrous flow switches seamlessly between classic rap styles and more abstract, ‘OutKast-esque’ vocal acrobatics. An unmistakably contemporary LP made in the image of progressive, life-affirming 90s hip hop and containing a unique blend of UK/US influences, ‘Colours Of The World’ is almost as nostalgic as it is original.”


1. Colo(u)rs of the World
2. She Said (feat Junior P Williams)
3. Dedication
4. Nice & Easy (feat Wes Restless & Juice Aleem)
5. You (feat Simeon Viltz & Thaione Davis)
6. Black Nite (feat Awdazcate & Inari Gold)
7. Drum Roll (feat Wes Restless)
8. Baby Don’t Go
9. Be Strong (feat Simeon Viltz)
10. Chocolate Milk (feat Neak & Mojo Green)
11. For the Paper