Chris Read Discography

Chris Read Discography

Available Now Bandcamp iTunes

Renegades of Jazz ‘Afro Cookie’ (Chris Read’s Afro Concrete Remix)

  • Release date: 2017-12-15
  • Label: Agogo

Blurb from Renegades of Jazz:

“After releasing his ‘Moyo Wangu’ album in late 2016 where David Hanke connected to the time he spent in his early childhood in Arusha/Tanzania, it’s now time for ‘Moyo Zaidi’, the remixed version of the original album. While ‘Moyo Wangu’ was translated as ‘My Heart’, ‘Moyo Zaidi’ can be translated as ‘Heart Returned’.

The original songs have been reworked by twelve producers and DJs from all across the scene and continents. From America over Europe to Australia and from Funk over Cumbia and Dub to Deep House and Downbeat this remix album is a bounty stack of styles and directions. Funk versions from Moscow, Lisboa and London, some Cumbia from Brisbane, a Dub treatment from Los Angeles, Afrodisco comes from Bogotá, soulful Downbeat from the Black Forest and London, a slow mover from Hamburg and twisted Deep House from Amsterdam, Belgrad and London.”


1. Afro Cookie (Chris Read’s Afro Concrete Remix)
2. Jamboree (Mr Bird Remix)
3. Moyo Wangu (Bosq Remix)
4. Jazz Makossa (Anatoly Ice Remix)
5. Them Who Walk Slow (Sabrosa Pacifico Cumbia)
6. Moto Moto (KidGusto Remix)
7. Zebra Talk (Triberg Remix)
8. Beneath This African Blue (Paradise Hippies Remix)
9. Prison Island (Jonny Drop Remix)
10. Zebra Talk (Tim Jules Remix)
11. Majirani Yako Kelele (Igor Jadranin Remix)
12. Jamboree (Al Zanders Remix)