BBC 1Xtra 20th Anniversary: Chris Read Mix 11th June 2003

No Comments

From the station’s launch in summer 2002 to summer 2004 I was one of two Hip Hop mix show DJs on the BBC’s station for ‘new black music’, 1Xtra. This month marks the station’s 20th Anniversary, so I’ve embraced the embarrassment of my 1Xtra press photo and picked a selection of mixes I did on the station during that period to upload on Mixcloud for the first time. They’re definitely from a different era – pre-Serato, they’re vinyl only, recorded live on a simple two channel mixer with no effects … and with that comes a certain amount of imperfection I wouldn’t stand by today, but they represent the time well, and in some cases the music I was playing in clubs at the time. Full disclosure – I have given most of these mixes a light edit, cutting out a few sections I didn’t like, but for the most part they’re as they come. I’ll be uploading another of these mixes each week over the next couple of months and posting tracklists for each of them here.

Track list:

  1. Chris Read – Theme #1
  2. Cactus Jack feat Ed OG – Act Like What You Say
  3. Ed OG – I Got To Have It
  4. Davey Dex – Set it Off
  5. DJ Rags – To The Beat
  6. Wu Tang Clan – C.R.E.A.M
  7. Notorious BIG – Machine Gun Funk (Instrumental)
  8. Notorious BIG – Warning
  9. Notorious BIG – Unbelievable
  10. Notorious BIG – Kick In The Door
  11. Davey Dex – Throw Ya Hands Up
  12. Alicia Keys feat Busta Rhymes & Flip Mode Squad – Fallin (Remix Instrumental)
  13. Davey Dex – Get On Down (Unreleased)
  14. Alicia Keys feat Busta Rhymes & Flip Mode Squad – Fallin (Remix)
  15. Mobb Deep – Shook Ones Pt II (Instrumental)
  16. Mobb Deep – Shook Ones Pt II
  17. Mobb Deep – Front Lines (Hell On Earth) (Instrumental)
  18. The Great Ones feat Al Tariq – That N*gga
  19. Red Foo & Dre Kroon – Life Is a Game of Chess (Instrumental)
  20. Red Foo & Dre Kroon – Life Is a Game of Chess (Vocal)
  21. Felonie – Before I Let You Go (Seven Inches of Music Remix Instrumental)
  22. Big Daddy Kane – Taste of Chocolate
  23. DJ Riz – Live From Brooklyn Part 1
  24. Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers – Bustin Loose
  25. DJ LBR – Super Disco Break
  26. The Roots – Thought @ Work